Arctic Monkeys & Haim Dominate NME Award Nominations

This year’s NME Awards are dominated by Arctic Monkeys and Haim, respectively with eight and six nominations while Muse feature among the worst bands alongside One Direction.

Important names include Queens Of The Stone Age and Biffy Clyro, both with multiple nominations while David Bowie, Lorde and Jake Bugg will be contending for the prize as Best Solo Artist.

“For the finger points at me”, Bowie writes in a recent tweet referring both to the NME Award design and his 1995’s song titled “I Have Not Been To Oxford Town”. He’s also up for Hero Of The Year against Arctic Monkeys’ Alex Turner, Pussy Riot and Lou Reed.

AS the NME editor Mike Williams points out, last year has had really everything in terms of music, “returning legends, era-defining singles, more albums with a claim to be modern classics than any year in recent memory and tons of massice live moments to celebrate”.

The NME Awards 2014 with Austin, Texas will take place on Wednesday 26th February at London’s O2 Academy Brixton and voting closes on February 21.

Here are the categories and the shortlists for the NME Awards 2014:

Best British Band
Arctic Monkeys
Biffy Clyro
Palma Violets
Two Door Cinema Club

Best International Band supported by Austin, Texas
Arcade Fire
Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds
Vampire Weekend
Queens Of The Stone Age

Best Solo Artist
David Bowie
Jake Bugg
Kanye West
Lily Allen
Paul McCartney

Best New Band supported by Mossimo
Courtney Barnett
Jagwar Ma
Swim Deep
Wolf Alice

Best Live Band
Arctic Monkeys
Biffy Clyro
Palma Violets
Queens Of The Stone Age

Best Album
Arctic Monkeys -“AM”
Drenge – “Drenge”
Kanye West – “Yeezus”
Peace – “In Love”
QOTSA – “…Like Clockwork”
Savages – “Silence Yourself”

Best Track supported by Blackstar Amplification
Arcade Fire – “Reflektor”
Arctic Monkeys – “Do I Wanna Know?”
Daft Punk – “Get Lucky”
Disclosure – “White Noise”
Lily Allen – “Hard Out Here”
Primal Scream – “2013”

Best Music Video
Arcade Fire – “Reflektor”
Arctic Monkeys – “Why’d You Only Call Me When You’re High?”
Eagulls – “Nerve Endings”
Haim – “Falling”
Lily Allen – “Hard Out Here”
Pharrell- “Happy”

Best Festival
Reading and Leeds
T In The Park

Best TV Show
Breaking Bad
Doctor Who
Fresh Meat
Game Of Thrones

Best Music Film
Good Vibrations
Made Of Stone
Muscle Shoals
Muse – Live At Rome Olympic Stadium
The National: Mistaken For Strangers
Sound City

Best Reissue
The Beta Band, “The Regal Years: 1997-2004”
The Breeders, “LSXX (Last Splash 20th Anniversary Edition)”
Bob Dylan, “Bootleg Series, Vol.10: Another Self Portrait (1969- 1971)”
The Clash, “Sound System”
Nirvana, “In Utero: 20th Anniversary Edition”
The Velvet Underground, “White Light/White Heat 45th Anniversary Super Deluxe Edition”

Best Band Blog or Twitter
Alana Haim, Haim
Albert Hammond Jr
James Blunt
Jehnny Beth, Savages
Theo Hutchcraft, hurts

Best Book
Alan McGee – “Creation Stories”
Beck – “Song Reader”
Bob Stanley – “Yeah Yeah Yeah”
Mark Lewisohn – “The Beatles- All These Years: Volume One: Tune In”
Morrissey – “Autobiography”
Richard Hell – I Dreamed I Was A very Clean Tramp”

Best Small Festival
Green Man
Festival Number 6
Kendall Calling
Y Not

Best Fan Community
Arctic Monkeys

Music Moment Of The Year
Arctic Monkeys headline Glastonbury
Kanye West brings Jesus on stage
Morrissey’s autobiography is released
Pussy Riot are freed
Rolling Stones headline Glastonbury

Worst Band
30 Second To Mars
The 1975
Imagine Dragons
One Direction
The Wanted

Hero Of The Year
Alex Turner
David Bowie
Este Haim
Lou Reed
Pussy Riot
Russel Brand

Villain Of The Year
David Cameron
Harry Style
Miley Cyrus
Robin Thicke
Russel Brand
Vladimir Putin