Hot Chip – Brixton Academy

I think I’ve just got Hot Chip. Since they became mainstream with the 2006 album ‘The warning’ I always had them down as some sort of also rans without anything really to back it up. My notions were completely incorrect and they haven’t disappeared as I once predicted they would, and instead they’ve went from strength to strength as showing by their 2 night stand atBrixtonAcademy.

The warm up for the gig consisted of doing an impromptu pub crawl ofLondon. A quick pint in Hackney was interrupted to meet a mate atLondonBridgewhich led to a quick train journey to New Cross to sit in a beer garden in the rain and then taxi across the South East to the South West to plough on in Brixton.

Outside it was a truly awful night and the heady days of getting pissed inHeatonParkand on Hackney Marshes over the summer at festivals felt a long time ago. The dankness was forgotten about though as soon as Django Django came on stage.

I was looking forward to support act Django Django almost as much Hot Chip and they didn’t disappoint. The Mercury nominated Scottish 4 piece were ideal support for the evening and had the sold out crowd getting nicely into the groove. As previously mentioned my predictions are pretty shit, however I reckon DD are a good bet to headlining the Academy sooner rather than later.

Hot Chip come on to a great reception. It’s something of a homecoming gig for them, beingSouth Londonlads. They open with the bass heavy ‘Shake a Fist’ which morphs brilliantly into the sublime ‘Boy From School’. The atmosphere in the place was brilliant, which hit a plateau with their biggest hit ‘Over and Over’. A slight surprise in the set was the inclusion of ‘Gabrielle’, a solo number from Joe Goddard. A nice surprise non the less.

‘Ready for the Floor’ goes down a storm, as would be expected as does their brilliant version of Fleetwood Mac’s ‘Everywhere’, a brilliant anthem for those in the audience who are clearly in chemically altered states! ‘Hold On’ brings the set to an end before they return for a 4 song encore with the highlight being the brilliant ‘I feel better’.

No body in the audience wanted it to end but unfortunately it had to. A triumphant home coming gig and clearly a band at the top of their game. If I ever tell you band is not all that and won’t be around for long take no notice!


Set List

1. Shake a Fist

2. And I Was a Boy From School

3. Don’t Deny Your Heart

4. One Life Stand

5. Night and Day

6. Flutes

7. Over and Over

8. Brothers

9. Look at Where We Are

10. Gabrielle

11. How Do You Do?

12. Ready for the floor

13. Everywhere

14. Hold On.


15. Motion Sickness

16. Crap Kraft

17. I feel Better

18. Let Me Be Him.