Kele Okereke unveils third solo album ‘Fatherland’

The return of Kele Okereke is on the horizon as he announces his latest studio record, Fatherland.

October 6 marks the date that the mammoth thirteen-track LP from Okereke will be officially released.  Fatherland, the third solo record from the Bloc Party frontman, follows both The Boxer and Trick.

Fatherland features songs such as ‘Versions Of Us’ (ft. Corinne Bailey Rae), ‘Savannah’ (named after his daughter, born late last year) and ‘Streets Been Talkin’.  The latter track said to be a “bittersweet ode to romance and the passing of time”, is available to listen to now.

Speaking about the inspiration of his forthcoming record, Okereke said he was “listening to a lot of Elliott Smith’s Either/Or, Pink Moon by Nick Drake, Blue by Joni Mitchell, and the Al Green album, Still in Love With You.”  He carried on saying via press release, that expressing feelings and words in songs has allowed him to recognise he is entering a different part of his life.

Fatherland Tracklist

‘Streets Been Talkin’’
‘You Keep On Whispering His Name’
‘Grounds For Resentment’ (Ft. Olly Alexander)
‘Do U Right’
‘Versions Of Us’ (Ft. Corinne Bailey Rae)
‘Road To Ibadan’
‘The New Year Party’
‘Royal Reign’

Ella Scott

Ella Scott

Gigslutz Editor, token Geordie and Blur fangirl. Naturally, achieving Vicky Pattinson's VIP edge is what drives me to get up in the morning.