NEWS: Terry Pratchett’s Discworld comes to vinyl for the first time

NEWS: Terry Pratchett’s Discworld comes to vinyl for the first time

Terry Pratchett’s Vinyl Discworld, a 15LP vinyl audiobook box set featuring seven classic stories, will be released on Friday 29th November and is available for pre-order now.

Following the very successful Good Omens, Doctor Who and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy releases on vinyl, Demon Music Group presents Discworld featuring the following stories:

  • Mort
  • Wyrd Sisters
  • Guards! Guards!
  • Eric
  • Small Gods
  • Night Watch
  • Bonus non-Discworld story Only You Can Save Mankind

41 Discworld novels were written, set on a fictional flat planet, balanced on the backs of four elephants, which in turn stand on the back of a giant turtle. It is estimated that more than 80 million Discworld books have been sold in 37 languages.

These stories were brought stirringly to life in audio with music, sound effects and a cast of actors including Anton Lesser, Sheila Hancock, Martin Jarvis, Melvyn Hayes, Philip Jackson, Alex Jennings, Geoffrey Whitehead, Patrick Barlow and Mark Heap – with Death, as ever, played by himself.

This beautifully illustrated, lavishly packaged vinyl box set presents seven thrilling BBC Radio dramatisations on 15 pieces of heavyweight 180g ‘DiscSwirl’ vinyl. Each of the seven gatefold albums is stunningly illustrated and features specially commissioned sleeve notes by Stephen Briggs, author of The Discworld Companion, along with full cast and credits. Included within the artwork is a recreation of the Discworld map created across the 15 printed inner bags. The episodes ‘Night Watch’ and ‘Only You Can Save Mankind’ include themed etchings on Side B.