REVIEW: Not The 9 O’Clock News – 3 album box set

REVIEW: Not The 9 O’Clock News – 3 album box set

40 years since the original series of Not The 9 O’clock News was first broadcast to the nation, 3 albums culled from the vaults of the BBC have been lovingly remastered and restored to their former glories. Exhibiting hilarious sketched and some that touch a sensitive nerve listening back, nonetheless this enjoyable release via Demon Music is a welcome sight.

Breaking the likes of Mel Smith (RIP), Rowan Atkinson, Pamela Stephenson and Griff Rhys-Jones as young comedians on TV screens, the programme actually replaced another comedy classic Fawlty Towers, was ground breaking and as we know now led all the aforementioned to go on to achieve worldwide success.

Not The 9 O’clock News appears on CD for the first time along with Hedgehog Sandwich and The Memory Kinda Lingers, the first 2 albums were that well received upon their initial release they made their way into the UK top 10 albums charts, no mean feat for a new comedy show but it just proves how much their material was adored and gleefully swallowed up by their eager audiences.

Back in 1979 when the Labour Party gave way to the Conservatives a wave of discontent shook the nation to its knees. Funny how with time things don’t change that much. But it was the comedy of the time that got people through their working days when politics seemed it would be the end of the world. Skecthes like Points of View, General Synod’s Life of Python, Constable Savage, Open Marriage, The Pope’s Visit and Two Ninnies all feature as do a host of other classic bits.

Housed in a solid slipcase with new liner notes by John Lloyd and Tim Worthington, they eagerly discuss the workings of the writing time behind the series which included Richard Curtis, David Renwick and Laurie Rowley who would go onto win a Silver Rose at the Montreux Festival and also a Bafta, it’s no wonder these has been reissued for new and old audiences to rediscover.

The box set can be purchased from the Demon Group website