Suspects share new single ‘The Mental Health Act’

Released to coincide with Mental Health Awareness Week here in the UK (10th-16th May), Essex-based punks Suspects have shared their latest single ‘The Mental Health Act’. The title track from the band’s upcoming EP, which is set to be released via Cool Thing Records later this year, ‘The Mental Health Act’ is a cathartic guitar anthem that rips through the negative impact over-exposure to social media can have on our emotional well-being, and how damaging it can be to our self-esteem.

“This song is about cutting back, turning off and facing your demons. Accepting that you are your own person and that your imperfections are beautiful, and that you don’t need constant guidance on how to live your life,” the band explain. “We invite so much attention into our lives. Mostly positive, but sometimes overwhelmingly negative. It can have a real impact on your day-to-day life and can make you feel alone and alienated – constantly comparing our lives to other people’s, whether that be celebrities or friends and family.”

Formed of Thomas Prescott (guitar/vocals), James May (drums) and newcomer Joey Halamandres (bass), Suspects teamed up with producer Thomas Mitchener (Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes, Gallows, The Futureheads, Asylums) to create this heavy new offering. Fuelled by intense riffs, crashing percussion and Prescott’s direct vocals, ‘The Mental Health Act’ is a psychological purge designed to smash through the FOMO that comes after scrolling through other people’s life highlights on your social media feeds.

Listen to ‘The Mental Health Act’ below.


Follow Suspects on  Spotify, Twitter, Instagram Facebook for more updates.

Kate Crudgington

Kate Crudgington

Kate Crudgington

Assistant Editor for Gigslutz (2015-2017) Now Co-Founder, Co-Host & Features Editor for @getinherears