The View Announce New Single & Tour

After making a glorious return with last year’s Top 10 album ‘Cheeky For A Reason’, which received numerous glowing reviews – some of the best of the band’s career so far – and also saw them winning the Best Music Award 2012 at the Sunday Mail’s Great Scot Awards and Album of the Year 2012 at the Nordoff Robins Tartan Cleff Scottish Music Awards, The View have compiled some of their finest moments to date on the ‘Seven Year Setlist’ album which will be released on June 17th on Cooking Vinyl, the same day as their brand new single ‘Standard’.

To celebrate the release of ‘Seven Year Setlist’, The View have also just announced an exclusive one-off intimate pre-release album show in London at The Borderline on Monday 10th June, before they support the legendary Stone Roses in front of 50,000 people at Glasgow Green on June 15th.  The band will also be touring throughout May and June with Propaganda – the UK’s biggest indie night.

‘Seven Year Setlist’ spans The View’s journey to date from ‘Face For The Radio’ which originally featured on their self-titled debut EP which was released in 2006 up to the present day with three new songs in the shape of the first single ‘Standard’ (out June 17th) as well as ‘Dirty Magazine’ and ‘Kill Kyle’. Along the way, it visits the #3 hit ‘Same Jeans’, ‘Wasted Little DJs’ which won Best Track at the NME Awards, another Top 15 hit with ‘Superstar Tradesman’, a Dirty Version of the ‘Which Bitch?’ album highlight ‘ Shock Horror’ and ‘How Long’, the first single and opening track from ‘Cheeky For A Reason’ which was accompanied by a video starring Red Road / A Guide To Recognizing Your Saints actor Martin Compston.

“Over the years there’s been four studio albums, thousands of gigs, too much vodka and loads of memories on this crazy rock n’ roll journey,” says vocalist / guitarist Kyle Falconer. “So we wanted to create an album that was kinda like stopping and looking back over the years – with a few new tracks too. That’s the Seven Year Setlist.”

The new material on the album reunites the band with Owen Morris (Oasis, The Verve) who produced their Mercury Prize-nominated, #1 album ‘Hats Off To The Buskers’. The majority of the songs on the album were written by Falconer and bassist Kieren Webster, and features further production courtesy of Mike Crossey (Artic Monkeys, Foals) and Youth (Primal Scream).

The full album tracklisting is:

1. Kill Kyle

2. Grace

3. Wasted little DJs

4. Rebeccas

5. How Long

6. The Don

7. Skag Trendy

8. Realisation

9. Face For The Radio

10. Tacky Tattoo

11. The Clock

12. Standard

13. Underneath The Lights

14. Tragic Magic

15. Same Jeans

16. Dirty Magazine

17. Superstar Tradesman

18. Sunday

19. Shock Horror

20. Distant Doubloon

20. Standard (original album mix)

The band recently completed their first full North American coast-to-coast tour which included a sold-out show at New York’s Bowery Ballroom, a date at famous Los Angeles venue The Troubadour and a set at SXSW. The View’s summer touring plans are as follows:


10th – Dundee, 20 Rocks

11th – Dundee, 20 Rocks

12th – Dundee, 20 Rocks

17th – Mighty Boof At The Playground festival (headliners)

24th – Birmingham, O2 Academy (Propaganda club night)

25th – Newcastle, O2 Academy (Propaganda club night)

31st – Sheffield, O2 Academy (Propaganda club night)


1st – Leeds, O2 Academy (Propaganda club night)

7th – London, O2 Academy Islington (Propaganda club night)

8th – Oxford, O2 Academy (Propaganda club night)

10th – London, Borderline

14th – Northampton, The Roadmender (Propaganda club night)

15th – Glasgow Green (support to Stone Roses)

21st – Glasgow, O2 ABC (Propaganda club night)

22nd – Edinburgh, The Picture House (Propaganda club night)


7th – Delamere Forest, Northwich (supporting The Charlatans)

13th – T in the Park