Tracks Of The Week, 02.03.18

While we fight off blizzards and icy chills, dream-pop quarter BOYS are taking us to warmer, brighter days with their new track ‘Hollywood.’

Based on dreams of leaving London behind and starting new lives in Hollywood – the result of spending time in the US together on their tour last year – ‘Hollywood’ is a fuzzy, dreamy offering from BOYS. It’s sun-soaked, swirling guitars and delicate vocals making for something so laidback – it’s enough to make anyone want to up sticks and move.

‘Hollywood’ is out today on all digital platforms


Ahead of the imminent release of their new album, Gengahr have shared title track ‘Where Wildness Grows.’

Part of a record that explores complex relationships and celebrates human flaws, the track asks questions of the self. As Felix Bushe explains: “Where Wildness Grows is an attempt to figure out what it is that makes us get out of bed in the morning. Where do we find the passion to create the lives we want for ourselves? And with these great expectations and ambitions, how do we cope when things don’t go to plan? I’m still not sure…

Recorded live, the track is a dose of intimate raw energy – a definite standout track.

Where Wildness Grows is out on 9 March.
See Gengahr live:
21 – The Think Tank, Newcastle
22 – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds
23 – King Tuts Wah Wah Hut, Glasgow
24 – Gorilla, Manchester
26 – Hare & Hounds, Birmingham
27 – Rescue Rooms, Nottingham
29 – Joiners, Southampton
30 – Portland Arms, Cambridge
2 – The Haunt, Brighton
3 – Koko, London
4 – The Globe, Cardiff
10 – Focus Wales ’18, Wrexham

Having recently announced details of their upcoming album, Rainbow Kitten Surprise have shared their new track, ‘Holy War.’

Haunting harmonies and dynamic instrumentation, paired with stunning visuals, ‘Holy War’ is a chillingly beautiful offering from Rainbow Kitten Surprise, but it started as something far lighter. Vocalist Sam Melo says: “The first demo I have for ‘Holy War’ is from December 2015.  The lyrics were tongue-in-cheek, even a little humorous at the time.  Over the past few years those same words have become more ominous – something that has caused me to wrestle with the value of passionate belief.”

True enough, ‘Holy War’ in its current state is far more outwardly emotional, and it’s good.

How to: Friend, Love, Freefall is out on 6 April
Rainbow Kitten Surprise play Dingwalls on 6 March

Having announced his fourth studio album last month – set for release next week – Albert Hammond Jr has shared ‘is new track ‘Set To Attack.’

Taken from an album exploring the stillborn death of this twin brother, Francis, and the later effects it had on his life and music, ‘Set To Attack’ is a reflective, but – in true AHJ style – still incredibly cool dose of swaggering indie rock. Taking a page from Bowie’s book, he says: “What the music says may be serious, but as a medium it should not be questioned, analyzed or taken too seriously. I think it should be tarted up, made into a character, a parody of itself. The music is the mask the message wears and I, the performer, am the message.”

Francis Trouble is out on 9 March

Melissa Svensen

Melissa Svensen

Melissa Svensen

Melissa, 22. Editor. Student, music journalist, probably talking about Blur or Bowie