Tracks Of The Week, 19.08.16

Following the release of his magnificent album Grapefruit earlier this year, Manchester’s Kiran Leonard has now shared a brand new track – the first since the release of the LP.

‘Coyoacan’ tells the tale of “Trotsky and his wife, at home in Mexico City, lamenting infighting on the left, in spite of a beautiful world rampant with tyrants”– a typically profound and insightful offering from the young songwriter.

Although ‘Coyoacan’ is filled with the intellect and passion we’ve come to expect from Leonard, and his distinctive intense, heart-rending vocals, this new track appears to signal a slight change in musical tone. Flowing with glitchy sounds and twinkling percussion, it’s a beautiful cacophony of eclectic, disjointed sounds.

‘Coyoacan’ may be lacking the intricate guitar melodies we’ve come to know and love, but it is filled with just as much compelling majesty as Leonard’s previous offerings; proving yet again what an innovative artist he is.

Kiran Leonard is playing Green Man Festival this weekend, and you can catch him live across the UK next week:

22 August – Bristol, Louisiana TICKETS
23 August – Brighton, Patterns TICKETS
24 August – London, 100 Club TICKETS
25 August – Manchester, Deaf Institute TICKETS
27 August – Hebden Bridge, Trades Club TICKETS

Chicago-based Earth Girls combine retro garage-punk with infectious hooks and lush harmonies. The band have just released their debut album, and at just twenty one minutes long, it’s a short blast of perfect power-pop.

The album’s namesake ‘Wanderlust’ is filled with a catchy immediacy, raw guitars and uptempo beats. A fast-paced, concise snippet of the exciting, raucous offerings Earth Girls are capable of creating.

Wanderlust, the debut album from Earth Girls, is out now.

Having just released a new EP, Berlin-based trio Murmur Tooth create grunge-inspired offerings filled with driving beats and the gritty vocals of Leah Hinton and Claire Janini.

Taken from the EP is ‘And I Wait’; racing with reverb-strewn riffs and oozing cool vibes, it’s a nostalgic slice of scuzzy grunge filled with a refreshing, empowering energy.

The Room, the new EP from Murmur Tooth, is out now.

Oxfordshire brothers Jim and Loz Beck, aka Cassels, first caught our attention with last year’s ‘We Wander In The Night’; since then they’ve been wowing crowds across the country with their energy-fuelled live shows, and have now released a brand new EP.

Taken from the EP is ‘Ignoring All The Tunnels and Lights’ which is also accompanied by a touching video of Jim and Loz’s grandparents hearing their grandsons’ music for the first time.

A brutally honest look at getting older and all the ‘prodding and the x-rays’ that come with it, it starts off mellow in tone but soon builds into a vigorous, angst-driven blast of raucous doom. A raw, guttural slice of “Real Punk”, as one of their grandmothers points out in the video.

You, Us and They, the new EP from Cassels, is out now. You can buy it from Bandcamp for whatever you can afford, or on limited edition cassette via Big Scary Monsters.

Mari Lane

Mari Lane

Editor, London. Likes: Kathleen Hanna, 6Music, live music in the sunshine. Dislikes: Sexism, pineapples, the misuse of apostrophes.