Weezer announce new ‘White’ album

Following their mysterious, white-orientated internet presence (‘whiting out’ social media pages, uploading a video filled with white noise), Weezer have finally revealed their motives.  2016 will see a new, self-titled record from the Californian rock band.

Weezer, dubbed “The White Album”, is set to be released on April Fools Day (April 1st).  The forthcoming release will feature ten, self-produced tracks – which were worked on alongside Jake In Sinclair – including previous singles ‘Thank God For Girls’ and ‘Do You Wanna Get High?’

In a statement featured in an official press release, Rivers Cuomo from the band announced that “the inspiration behind the songs were my experiences hanging around the Westside of Los Angeles”.

Interestingly, Cuomo and co. have created an obscurely, farcical pre-order package where the Weezer White Album is concerned. For only $25,000 (£17427.25) Weezer are offering up a holiday to the Galapagos islands, as well as a catamaran trip to visit the Charles Darwin Research Station – among other bizarre treats.

Weezer is out on April 1st.

Weezer tracklist:

‘California Kids’
‘Wind In Our Sail’
‘Thank God For Girls’
‘(Girl We Got A) Good Thing’
‘Do You Wanna Get High?’
‘King Of The World’
‘Summer Elaine And Drunk Dori’
‘L.A Girlz’
‘Jacked Up’
‘Endless Bummer’

Ella Scott

Ella Scott

Gigslutz Editor, token Geordie and Blur fangirl. Naturally, achieving Vicky Pattinson's VIP edge is what drives me to get up in the morning.