Category: Books

REVIEW: Jonny Trunk: The A-Z of Music Shop Bags 1940’s - 1990

REVIEW: Jonny Trunk: The A-Z of Music Shop Bags 1940’s – 1990

Continuing heartwarming archive chronicles in the same hallowed tradition that accompanied previous coveted releases; sweet wrapper sugar rush Wrappers Delight, Sainsbury’s exemplary Own Brand and automobile dream Auto Erotica, Jonny Trunk has unleashed another prized nugget of fantabulous research, stunning…

NEWS: Tony Briggs book Behind The Scene

NEWS: Tony Briggs book Behind The Scene

The 90’s work of Ocean Colour Scene comes hand in hand with the sensational work of photographer Tony Briggs. When you look at one of their albums sleeves you are immediately drawn to the iconic depiction of the band in…

REVIEW: Richard Davis Madchester years 89-91 book

REVIEW: Richard Davis Madchester years 89-91 book

The Madchester years were full of colour, vibrance and youthful energy. Being 15 in 1990 I was abit too young to enjoy gigs taking place in 1989, although I was an avid listener of the music but didn’t fully embrace…

LIVE REVIEW: Paul Weller Leicester De Montford Hall 9.4.22

LIVE REVIEW: Paul Weller Leicester De Montford Hall 9.4.22

Presently reams of choral also rans rant and rave without intensity, eloquence, or direction, with an appetite to cash in on lukewarm squalid humdrum material, there can be little doubt regarding the longevity, ingenuity  and razor-sharp inventiveness of Mr Paul…

REVIEW: Ged Duffy – Factory Fairy Tales autobiography

REVIEW: Ged Duffy – Factory Fairy Tales autobiography

In and around the northern quarters of Manchester have been many names associated with its cultural movements including Peter Hook, Mani, Tony Wilson, even John Cooper Clarke. Names that might not trip off the tongue as easily as the aforenoted…

REVIEW: From The Floorboards Up – Jon Abnett

REVIEW: From The Floorboards Up – Jon Abnett

If you have visited on line forums and social media site since the advent of the internet you would have no doubt seen a plethora of pictures shared by fans, many capturing your favourite musician on stage, throwing shapes whilst…

BOOK REVIEW: The Beatles – Get Back hardback book

BOOK REVIEW: The Beatles – Get Back hardback book

The Beatles Get Back period is full of interest. The band had long since ditched their matching suits and the screaming crowds at their concerts instead the band turned into a masterfully sharp studio band, the likes of Brian Wilson…

REVIEW: Kevin Cummins – Juvenes book review

REVIEW: Kevin Cummins – Juvenes book review

Fans of Joy Division and New Order will be overly joyed to see a reissue of the long since out of print Kevin Cummins book Juvenes which was originally published in 2007. This new edition features previously unseen contact sheets…