EP: The Muffin Heads – ‘Don’t Give The People What They Want’

Following on from their double-A single release at the start of the summer and a slot at Camden Rocks three-piece punk band The Muffin Heads are bringing the noise with their riotous new EP Dont Give The People What They Want.

Lead single Bang Says The Gun  actually closes the EP and arrives in a squeal of feedback before thundering through two and a half minutes of snarled vocals from frontwoman Bex, pounding drums and straight-out rock riffs. Its a no-messing gut-punch of a track, rabidly fronting up to you, wavering between confidence and confrontation.

The preceding three tracks share the same melodic immediacy and cover themes including the dual-standards applied to women on Fuck and Fight, as Bex snarls, “Dont need your bullshit, Dont need your likes, cos all I wanna do is fuck and fight”. The track breathlessly breaks down midway before starting up afresh and climaxing in a frenzy of beats and guttural guitars.

Frenetic and seething from start to finish, Steve Lamacq described EP opener – which shares the releases title – as “2 minutes of anti-establishment punkwhen he played it on his 6Music show, and hes concisely hit the musical nail right on the head.

Dont Give The People What They Want will be released digitally and as a limited CD on 3 November and The Muffin Heads are on UK tour throughout September.

9 September – The Crowndale, Camden
10 September – The Louisiana, Bristol
12 September – New Adelphi, Hull
13 September – West Street Live, Sheffield
14 September – Trillians, Newcastle
15 September – Chameleon Arts Cafe, Nottingham
16 September – The Lab, Northampton
17 September – Musicians Against Homelessness, Rose and Crown, Bishops Stortford
28 September – Lady Luck, Canterbury
4 November – Camden Rocks Presents at Proud Camden

Sarah Lay