TRAAMS return with new single “Sleeper” (ft. Soffie Viemose)

Today, TRAAMS return with the announcement of “Sleeper”, the first song to be released from a series of recording sessions with producer Matt Peel (Eagulls, WH Lung), as the band worked towards completing their first full-length record since 2015’s critically-acclaimed “Modern Dancing”.

Featuring guest vocals from Soffie Viemose of Bella Union’s Danish five-piece Lowly, “Sleeper” contains everything that makes TRAAMS such a beguiling prospect. Propulsive rhythms meet woozy melody head-on, the title all too appropriate for what amounts to a motorik lullaby, and offers a sweetly addictive taste of what’s to come in 2022.

“Sleeper” is set to be warmly welcomed by fans of a band that have always prioritised quality over quantity when it comes to their recorded output. 2020 saw them return briefly with the acclaimed singles “The Greyhound” and “Intercontinental Radio Waves”, little shafts of light emanating from the dark of the pandemic lockdowns, which then saw a release on vinyl last year as part of the limited edition “4 Songs” EP.

TRAAMS guitarist and vocalist Stu Hopkins had the following to say about their new single:

“For a time we were quite set on this track staying as an instrumental. It wasn’t until the night before we were heading up to the studio that Padley sent through a new demo, quietly singing into his laptop in the dead of night.

Originally serving as a mood piece that would bridge a few of the others together, once we started to add singing Sleeper fast became one of our favourite tracks. It touches on the themes of time, longing and belonging that we have throughout the album, but they are at their lightest and most human on this track.

Whilst recording we thought it would work well as a duet, and Adam suggested Soffie, who we’d met years ago when we played with her band Lowly. We asked and were thrilled when she said yes. Soffie recorded her takes in Denmark and sent them over to us. Padley is also singing the chorus as per his original demo.

The freedom of the studio is really apparent on this track. There was a chance to play with layers and dynamics that we’d not really done before, there are no live drums, we played with vocal samples to create musical sections, it’s the most collaborative track we’ve ever done. We like it very much”

The single’s B-side is a remix of the track by Ryan Smith (bdrmm).

TRAAMS will take to the road in support of their new material with Protomartyr in April.

Live Dates (* = supporting Protomartyr)

APRIL 2022
15 – Prince Albert, Brighton* – SOLD OUT
16 – Islington Assembly Hall, London*
17 – Brudenell Social Club, Leeds* – SOLD OUT
18 – The Cluny, Newcastle*
29 – The Trades Club, Hebden Bridge* – SOLD OUT
30 – Stag & Dagger Festival, Edinburgh

MAY 2022
01 – Stag & Dagger Festival, Glasgow